PDA

View Full Version : Too Good To Be True In Columbia MO?????

bigandy
12-03-2005, 07:07 PM
I am a recent college graduate who has worked for a small landscaping for five years as a crew leader (started out as an internship). I am in the market for another job with my new college degree and since in know the landscaping industry, and got a degree in agricultural economics, (business management), I have applied for a Project Manager position with Rost Landscaping in Columbia Missouri. Anyway while im waiting for them to make up their minds I have supposedly found a prevailing wage job building walls that pays $25 an hour. They are working 10 hour days 5 days a week, and this week they were working saturday and sunday. Saturday is time and a half, sunday is double time, and friday would be overtime so it would be time and a half also. After 20% is taken off for taxes, that would be over $1600 a week. I just wanted to know if the government would find a way to get that money back some way, or if this sounds serious. If anyone local is reading this the company is out of St. Louis, and building the walls in a new development in Columbia. Im also looking for a good job if anyone knows of anything.

Lowes_Landscaping
12-03-2005, 09:29 PM
Andy, where did you get your degree from? I've heard of serveral guys up that way looking for workers.

bigandy
12-04-2005, 08:49 AM
My Degree was from the Universtiy of Missouri, Columbia

hoskm01
12-05-2005, 06:11 AM
Fed tax can be calculated here: http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1040tt.pdf
State tax is a percentage of Federal, Social security, medicare and any other deductions= about 25-28% of your check, give or take. The government doesnt look for ways to take your money, they take based on a given schedule or rate. And remember, you probably won't work 7 days every week, and you need some time off to relax too, at some point.

YardPro
12-06-2005, 07:11 AM
sounds about right for that type of work...