PDA

View Full Version : The best electrical connectors for landscape lighting

Venturewest
12-13-2005, 11:20 PM
I am new to low voltage lighting and wondered what you all use to connect the wiring. Do you use low voltage gel filled wire nuts or special connectors specifically made for landscape lighting? Any particular brands? Thanks

Dreams To Designs
12-14-2005, 07:01 AM
The best way is to solder the joints and use a gel filled connector like these.
http://www.kinginnovation.com/pro-dryconn.html
You can use just the connectors, but soldering makes a permanent mechanical connection that will very rarely create a problem. Cast lighting has excellent introduction to low voltage lighting and is worth the time to read the how-to on their site. Try this article about soldering.
http://www.cast-lighting.com/art-solder.html

Kirk

NightScenes
12-14-2005, 08:20 AM
If I am using wire nuts, I insert them into a resin filled packet manufactured by 3M. This resin pack makes a solid seal and I have never had ANY problems with these connections.

DMAN
12-14-2005, 08:43 AM
Paul,

Do you first make your splice, put it in the resin pack then put a standard wire nut on? Or do you use something else?

DMAN

Dreams To Designs
12-14-2005, 09:08 AM
Paul, are you using the 3M, DBY kits. 3Mô DBR Direct Bury Splice Kit. These will also work well, but can be a bit expensive.
http://products3.3m.com/catalog/us/en001/utilities_telecom/electrical_contractors/node_GST5QZL16Vbe/root_GST1T4S9TCgv/vroot_GSBCDFDZ1Zge/gvel_WWDVC6JJPQgl/theme_us_electricalcontractors_3_0/command_AbcPageHandler/output_html
Do you get any freezing weather or snow in your region? The frost heave plays havoc with the cables and wire splices here where the weather can change drastically from day to day.

Kirk

NightScenes
12-14-2005, 10:38 AM