PDA

View Full Version : how do u aerate w/ a sprinkler system?


The Curious Porpoise
01-06-2006, 09:28 PM
if a customer has a sprinkler system installed and wants aeration, how do u go about making sure that the sprinkler head's aren't damaged during aeration?

Jason Rose
01-06-2006, 10:02 PM
Marking flags...

Best case scenerio is that you tell the customer the sprinklers need to be marked and that THEY need to do it, you can even supply them the flags if they need them. If they aren't capable of doing it then charge extra to do it. It can be more time consuming then you may think, plus you will need to get wet since the only good way to find heads is by turning the system on.

Turfdude
01-06-2006, 11:15 PM
I usually supply m.o. paint and have clients circle heads & valve boxes... not marked or shallow pipes... I'm not responsible.

NightScenes
01-08-2006, 12:00 AM
How deep do aerators go and should you aerate St. Augustine?

SWD
01-08-2006, 08:15 PM
Absolutely, you should aerate St. Augustine - power rake also.
As far as depth - as deep as the machine will go.
Typically, you won't be able to penetrate over 3" unless you have a small tractor and a pto powered aerifier - then it is as deep as the tines will go.
Although, knowing the rocky soil that is common in Kingsland, Texas - you would be happy with 2".