PDA

View Full Version : Cummins powered Dodge

lwcmattlifter
01-24-2006, 10:27 PM
I'm thinking about buying a low mileage 4x4 2500 ram 5.9 CTD/man trans. What are the problem areas I should look at? Are there any years I should avoid? I'm new to dodge and cummins, help me out a little.

Matt

jtkplc
01-24-2006, 10:42 PM
Can't beat the Cummins diesel, it's made to pull unlike V-8 diesels. The I-6 of the Cummins produces it's HP and torque lower in the RPM range as compared to the V-8 diesels whose HP and torque or higher in the RPM range.

Eclipse
01-25-2006, 12:16 AM
What year are you looking at?

wriken
01-25-2006, 07:35 AM
I found out with mine, the harder they are working, the better they shine

Smalltimer1
01-25-2006, 09:26 AM
I know a guy who's getting ready to part out his '97 Dodge 3500 12V Cummins if you want the engine...

lawnmaniac883
01-25-2006, 02:36 PM
The engines on these are very good to say the least, what year are you looking at, there are 3 "generations" of these trucks all with their own respectable problems.

lwcmattlifter
01-25-2006, 08:46 PM
I'm looking at late 2nd gen or early 3rd gen. I know the injector pumps occasionally go out and their expensive to replace. Is their anything I should be looking for before I buy?

Premo Services
01-26-2006, 07:54 AM
I made the switch to a cummins diesel a couple years ago, and have never regretted it. The power, mileage are the best points. As someone else stated " the harder they are worked, the more they will shine" is the truth...

Here are a few sites to see what other dodge cummins owners feel about them

http://www.dieseltruckresource.com/

http://www.dieselram.com/

Smalltimer1
01-26-2006, 08:43 AM
I read that Toyota is eyeing Cummins mighty hard for their HD pickup for '09. Rumor has it that it will be a V-8.

Lawn Masters
01-26-2006, 01:37 PM