PDA

View Full Version : Maintaining 9000 sqr ft of bed.

RyanD
02-06-2006, 10:29 AM
I am bidding on a job that consists of weeding and watering 9000 sqr ft of bed. The bed is not within a reasonable distance to a water supply. I will have to truck it in. I think I have this part worked out. But, they also want the bed weeded. I am a solo operator and can't see myself having the time to weed this thing by hand. Do most just use roundup to control weeds in beds. I understand there is a drift hazard. Thanks

Premo Services
02-06-2006, 12:32 PM
That is a lot of hand weeding to do.
The use of pre emergents, such as snapshot, etc are good tools to help supress the growth. Then if the weeds grow in places roundup pro or simmular gylosophate product will kill the weeds.

All of this info is no good if you are not licensed to use pesticides in your state.

RyanD
02-07-2006, 02:53 PM
I'm not certified to apply pesticides in my state... yet. I have been studying and will be taking the test this month. I'm just in the process of submitting a bid and want to make sure I understand the best way prevent weeds in the existing bed. Thanks for your help Premo.

work_it
02-07-2006, 03:20 PM
I have a similar maintenance job that I take care of weekly. I don't have to bring in water, but I maintain 11,300 sq ft of flower beds and landscaped areas around a 5 acre estate. I normally set aside 4 to 6 hours/wk to take care of it, and found that the best way to bid it was hourly. Since they are my favorite customers I also free up time whenever they call for emergency services. As for weed control I use preen, and then weed by hand for anything that it doesn't control.

kirk brown
02-07-2006, 05:08 PM
work-it
that is a kicka$$ garden, nice job!

work_it
02-07-2006, 05:29 PM