PDA

View Full Version : Interlocking Pavers-how to install step by step

Green Elegance
02-10-2006, 06:15 PM
Hello and good day everyone,
I have a customer who does not wat to pay for having concrete poured and installed to extend an existing patio. I was going to charge $8-9/ sqft for this. So she is thinking of some time of "cheaper" install, but get the same type of look. I was thinking of pavers of some sort..........anyone have any suggestion? If so please provide the method for install and the supplies necessary. This is 300sqft possibly more. I have installed flagstone(dry) using metal edging, but not sure what base and fill materials required.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

PS: I am new to the lawn and landscape business so please be kind.....LOL

Green Elegance Lawn & Landscape
www.green-elegance.com

Carolina Cuts
02-10-2006, 06:39 PM
I found alot of help on this topic at home depot. Plenty of books there... Step by step..

Green Elegance
02-10-2006, 06:49 PM
Carolina........I guess my only thing would be how to charge the customer. I know I will need the base material and sand for top base and fill..........but not sure on how to charge. I usually charge my customer for materials plus a mark up.......then bill them for labor seperately. Just was hoping for details. I will definitely get a book as well.........
Thanks,
-Dan

GreenMonster
02-10-2006, 07:08 PM
I charge more than $8-9/s.f for pavers. Concrete is typically a cheaper option than pavers.

cgland
02-10-2006, 07:38 PM
As Mark said, poured in place concrete is waayyy cheaper than pavers. The labor alone is more than $8-$9 in my area. Just remember, the longevity of a PROPERLY installed paver area is 10 fold that of concrete.

Chris

Green Elegance
02-10-2006, 07:51 PM
Okay, that answers my question........I will simply advise the customer that paver install is way more costly than concrete.