PDA

View Full Version : gas

texas
02-11-2006, 08:51 AM
how do yall get gas? do yall tank up yur equipment every morning or do yall have yalls own tank? i could probably get a 300 gallon tank from my dad for a few hundred. payup

geogunn
02-11-2006, 08:56 AM
I gas at the pumps. I fill the mowers on the trailer and a 5 gal can as well as the truck.

GEO :)

grass_cuttin_fool
02-11-2006, 09:11 AM
I fill up each day and keep a 5 gallon can as a back up. Im a solo operator and If I were to buy gas in bulk, it may get old and stale before I used it all. Also you have the problem of someone stealing it. And some local restriction may require a containment system and a lot of red tape and extra paper work.Thats why I just buy what I need as I need it.

wayne

JB1
02-11-2006, 09:21 AM
We have three five hundred gallon tanks , one for gas, one for diesel and one for off road diesel works great for me.

rodfather
02-11-2006, 09:34 AM
500 gallon above ground tank for gas, plan on getting another one for diesel in the spring.

OnMyOwn
02-11-2006, 09:43 AM
We purchase all of our gas at the same station daily. We put it on one of their credit cards that gets paid off at month-end, but the dealer always gives us a volume discount of about $20.00, or so. Do you save this much money by spending money on a tank and bulk deliveries, or do you save more?

In addition, I know time is a factor, but I like being able to go to the gas station to buy ice and a cold pop for each morning. I would miss this if we started storing our fuel at location. I'm sure I lose a few minutes each day, but it builds relationships with the employees.

Richard Martin
02-11-2006, 10:12 AM
I fill up once a week in everything and carry 3 five gallon cans. I hate wasting time in the gas station.

MysticLandscape
02-11-2006, 10:20 AM
I fill up on sunday nights, fill the truck all the mowers and then carry 5 gallons on diesel and five gallons of gas for during the week.

jtkplc
02-11-2006, 10:33 AM