PDA

View Full Version : competetive quotes mean nothing

sandrat
02-11-2006, 02:30 PM
I am in my second year of commercial mowing. I had two accounts last year and have them again this year. I bid a couple of additional accounts for this year. I have good references from the accounts I have. One of the accounts that I quoted this year is a major distribution company....they have plants all over the country. Area to be mowed is 2.2 acres. all in one spot. Level ground and an easy mow with minimal trimming. I figure between an hour and a half to two hours max. to do the job. My bid was $150 per mow. I was told that my bid was "competetive" but they were going to stay with their present contractor. I just found out they are paying him $320 per mow.
I know this company has some strict quoting parameters. So------do I just walk away or push it..........like contacting the PA's boss? I know I would probably not get any work there if I did this, but i'm not anyway....so, is this a violation of the "MOWING CONTRACTOR'S CODE OF ETHICS" , if there is such a thing.........is it backstabbing? What do you think?

LwnmwrMan22
02-11-2006, 02:45 PM
I am in my second year of commercial mowing. I had two accounts last year and have them again this year. I bid a couple of additional accounts for this year. I have good references from the accounts I have. One of the accounts that I quoted this year is a major distribution company....they have plants all over the country. Area to be mowed is 2.2 acres. all in one spot. Level ground and an easy mow with minimal trimming. I figure between an hour and a half to two hours max. to do the job. My bid was $150 per mow. I was told that my bid was "competetive" but they were going to stay with their present contractor. I just found out they are paying him $320 per mow.