PDA

View Full Version : Need some help

pcs
04-18-2001, 09:11 PM
I need some help with a job. It's a drainage problem. I'll try to explain it the best that I can. The back yard is 32 feet long. There is a catch basin in the back corner of the yard. But nothing is going into it because it is above grade. The yard slopes towards the back fence but raises again before the fence, so all the water collects and there is about a 5 foot wide by 32 feet long spot that is always saturated with water. What can be done to correct this problem. Someone suggested putting down some stone with some pipe and running it into the catch basin and then re-sodding. Please help.

Lanelle
04-18-2001, 09:24 PM
Is re-grading a possibility? If not, then putting in a drain box connected to solid ADS pipe should work nicely.

pcs
04-18-2001, 09:28 PM
I'm just a rookie at this, so if you don't mind could you give me some step by step instructions on what I should do. Thanks.

paul
04-18-2001, 09:36 PM
PCS, the catch basin is higher than the grade of the yard. First I would look at the catch basin and see if there are any adjustment rings on it, if there are remove them and then shoot the grade to see if you can regrade the yard so water goes to it. When you are shooting the grade make notes on the high points and low points in the yard. See if you can maintain a 1% slope minimum more would be better. Need this info before I can help any more.

Lanelle
04-18-2001, 09:39 PM