PDA

View Full Version : help!! newbie here

ibuildcars4u
02-24-2006, 08:25 AM
i have a 1973 ford Ln600 dump truck with [what i believe is] a 330 or 340 small block original hd truck motor. [ i will edit the post when i look at the truck for the correct size motor] it has the 5 speed with 1st being the granny gear, and a 2 speed rear end. what motors are interchangeable with this truck and trans, the motor is blown, someone told me that you HAVE to replace it with a hd truck motor, the original size if possible. my question is why [as long as the trans bolts up to it] couldn't i put a 360 or 390 big block light truck motor in it, or if a big block will not bolt up, then a 351 ford? i found a used [ millage unknown] original replacement motor for it for $1200. now i know i can get a 351, 360, 390 for at or under $500, but i was told you cant put a car/ light truck motor in it, any advice would be greatly appreciated, any suggestions? thank you for your time, i will post the correct motor later on today, thanks

UNISCAPER
02-24-2006, 10:02 AM
If you don't have a 330, you most likely have a 360 Hi Deck truck engine in your truck. You could put any Ford engine in the truck that will interchange with that bolt pattern, however, if it does not have a High deck block you risk considerable power and torque losses over what is in it.

The 330-360-390 series Ford blocks should never have been dropped, because in late '76, thney went to a 370-429 engine that have now been morphed into liter measurments.

Those two engines were beyond garbage and never should have been used. Weak crankshafts, failing oil pumps, valve train clatter, governors that had to be constently adjusted, they were just aweful. Then you get one from a municipality thinking it has little time on it because of low miles, and what you get is a unit that idled all day long so the workers could heat their food on the engine.