PDA

View Full Version : going to get business going in spring

yankeesdood16
02-25-2006, 12:48 AM
I'm in the binghamton ny area and I want to know if I need a small business licence to mow. I've been mowing a few yards for a few years but this spring I am going to get a business going. I am just going to do yards and possibly a couple apartments, I'm not going to mow for businesses or not right away at least. Also I'm not going to advertise, I'm just going to talk to people about getting yards and ask people if they know anyone that wants there yard mowed. I am going to use a regular mower(not a commercial mower, at least not right away). Do I need to get a licence or can I go without one? Any advise on what I need to do to get a mowing business going is appreciated. Thanks!

nickgerne
02-25-2006, 01:19 AM
yes you should get a business license. it doesnt cost that much just head on down to your local courthouse and fill out the papers. It costs about 30 bucks to get mine. The only thing that is bad about having the business license is that if you just have an Assumed Name certificate (google it to know what that means) you need to file taxes quarterly.

I would go with a sole propriotorship if you stay small. but remember that with that type of business structure YOU are PERSONALLY liable for any damages and/or debts incurred while doing business.

Technically you need to file what you make by mowing these yards on the side already on your 1040 form so you might as well get the business license. with a business license you can also have various deductions associated with the business and use them for periodic personal use, ex office supplies & stamps, and assorted tools to repair any broken equipment. don't get over zealous with this because if the IRS audits you (and is likely if you're being greedy and deduct every penny) you will spend more in fines than just paying for it in the first place. KEEP YOUR RECIEPTS.