PDA

View Full Version : HELP!!! Missionary needs advice.

av8r4christ
02-25-2006, 11:44 AM
Hi, I'm brand new here. I'm a missionary in Papua New Guinea (see www.theregionsbeyond.com), and I work with the Kamea people of the Gulf Province, PNG. We are trying to build an airstrip in the local village we are living in, and I need advice on some heavy equipment to use. We are limited to what we can lift in by chopper to under 4500 kgs (roughly 9000 lbs). There are no roads leading into our area.

One hundred local men have cut down the trees and cleared the underbrush, but now we need to cut off the top of the mountain ridge to level for the airstrip. It is set to be 2500 feet long by 100 feet wide.

I'm looking at Komatsu D20 vs. Bobcat/Skid Steer. Can I get some input from the experts? I am an aircraft mechanic/pilot in my pre-missions days, so I kinda know how to fix stuff. Obviously, we want to keep cost down, since it is a mission and funds are very limited. (Buying in Papua New Guinea is probably not considerable due to HIGH markups.)

Please, anybody that has any suggestions, please let me know--either on this site or by my email address: av8r4christ@juno.com

Thank you!
Matt--in the USA until mid-April 2006

UNISCAPER
02-25-2006, 12:34 PM
Look at a 247/257 Caterpillar with a 6-1 blade and bucket. They weigh 9,000 lbs with blade, we have used a H-31 Herculese Helo to drop ours in challenged terrain spots, and you can get cable hooks for the helo wonch to attach to the roof of the machine. It will carry fairly balanced on any crane or Helo as well.

Also, Caterpillar has outreach programs you can check into through sales and marketing where they will get you either special pricing, or if they see a desperite need, they might just give you an off lease machine.