PDA

View Full Version : Z cutting technique advice

Simply Green Lawn Care
02-26-2006, 02:15 AM
This is my first year in the lawncare business and I would like some advice on turning techniques for my Z.

I use a 2005 Kubota ZDPRO 28hp diesel 60". The problem I have is when I turn. I tear up the grass from time to time .

I'm fortunate because I own about 11 acres and I can practice. The problem is when I operate on client lawns.

What can I do to minimize/eliminate this problem?

Suggestions please!

Thanks,

Bo

"All that is complex is not useful and all that is useful is simple".

drumbo
02-26-2006, 02:27 AM
I would suggest not stopping one tire. If you can work at keeping them both moving, it will avert the "ripping" on the turns.

For example, as you slow down at the end of a run, you can:
Come to a complete stop and then back up and rotate for your new run.
OR
You can slow to a crawl on one tire and turn a little faster on the outside.
OR
You can come to a complete stop and then move levers in opposite direction to cause a "0" turn.

I have found that using these techniques (varies by lawn layout & grass), I have been able to steal business from competitors who leave the little circles from their ripping.

captken
02-26-2006, 03:30 AM
And make use of the search feature to access the Archive for more information.

OutdoorExtras
02-26-2006, 03:32 AM
3 point turns!:) Forward with the right, back with the left and then forward with the right again. Just reverse it to turn the other direction. The key is to not "twist" one of the tires while turning.

Another idea is swap out the back tires with a set of "Turfmates" as opposed to the heavy deep tread tires that come stock. The turfmates won't last as long (about one season), but will not tear up the lawns half as badly as those rototillers than most mowers come with.

captken
02-26-2006, 04:12 AM
It this a [daddy bought] business?
Where in Tn. are you located?
How old are you?