PDA

View Full Version : Trying To Do Things Right!!

sdalexander
02-26-2006, 01:22 PM
I am brand new to Lawnsite.com, really not sure if any one will read this?

Long story short:
I am getting ready to start my 2nd full season in the lawn care business. I want to be successful/competitive in the business, who wouldn't right! I have lic/insu. and good equip (you can't do good work with poor equip), and 8 solid residential customers. I placed my first commercial proposal at a local bank the other day. Things look good so far.

My problem:
I am a full-time firefighter, my schedule allows me to do the business thing. I love both jobs, wife in college, and kids- things are busy. Even though mowing is a part-time thing right now I don't want to give my customers the impression that I don't value their business. I want to expand when the time is right, now with bidding commercial the demands are higher- it's about reputation, something I don't have, YET! I am a one-man show at this point.

Am I getting in over my head trying to compete in the commercial market?
Any advise for the Newbee? :rolleyes:

B&D Lawn Care
02-26-2006, 01:43 PM
I don't think you are. Being a firefighter helps out b/c you don't work a full schedule like others.

J&R Landscaping
02-26-2006, 01:46 PM
IMO, I would focus more on residential customers before I break in on the commercial market! This will give you the time to grow your reputation, experince, and equipment. Many commercial accounts want a do it all company..from mowing to mulch to pesticide and so on...

Do you currently have the time, knowledge and desire to perform all of the above tasks? I'm not trying to bash you for your attemps but these are questions I have asked my self and at least for now, I will stay residential until those answers are a little more to my liking and the customers needs! JMO

LawnScapers of Dayton
02-26-2006, 01:58 PM