PDA

View Full Version : What equipment you wish you would have rented instead of buying it.

DLS1
02-26-2006, 02:49 PM
Just curious what equipment you bought thinking you would have made your money back fairly quickly but took a few years to pay for it and wished you would have rented it when you need it.

I have been renting an aerator for a few years but tell myself i should buy one but have not made enough money from aeration to justify buying one. I guess if i bought one I would be temped to lower my aeration rates to help pay it off quicker.

Seems like an aerator, dethatcher, slit seeder would be some items that would be tough decision to buy or rent it.

accuratelawn
02-26-2006, 02:56 PM
I rented aerators for a few seasons.
I purchased one a couple years ago for the benefit of scheduling the work. Since I purchased an aerator I can carry it on the trailer and add a couple areation jobs each day, rather than stacking them all up & renting a machine.

beautifullawns
02-26-2006, 03:29 PM
The two pieces of equipment that I always rent is an aerator and a skidsteer. I plan on buying both this year. I bought a rototiller though and have only used it once. That is something I should have just rented.

Shawns Lawns
02-26-2006, 04:18 PM
I would like to buy an ariens powerbroom but because of the amount of sweeping i do renting for me is the way to go.:waving:

turfcobob
03-01-2006, 11:54 AM
I suggest you look at the overall picture. When you rent it is more than the rental involved. You have to scedule to the rental plus the cost of drive time truck, employee or yourself...Rental makes sense if it is an occasional thing. but it is probably better to buy if you rent more than 6 times a year.

olderthandirt
03-01-2006, 12:10 PM
Just curious what equipment you bought thinking you would have made your money back fairly quickly but took a few years to pay for it and wished you would have rented it when you need it.