PDA

View Full Version : licensing

mowforyourmoney
02-27-2006, 05:14 PM
ok does it really matter if your business is licesenced to get comercial accounts do they check to see if you're legit the reason i'm asking is cuz i'm a minor and i think my 'rents would have to get the license under their name and they are convinced that woud jack up their taxes ne advice would be greatly appriciated

LwnmwrMan22
02-27-2006, 05:36 PM
ok does it really matter if your business is licesenced to get comercial accounts do they check to see if you're legit the reason i'm asking is cuz i'm a minor and i think my 'rents would have to get the license under their name and they are convinced that woud jack up their taxes ne advice would be greatly appriciated

I've been doing commercials for 16 years. My business only has a sales tax license. I have none with the local city, county, township, state.

I do have an EIN with the IRS, and a state tax number, but that's it.

CLARK LAWN
02-27-2006, 05:50 PM
your a minor so it doesn't really matter you cant sign a contract so dont bother with commercial and you need a tax id # to get insurance. and as for your parents taxes you wont be making a whole lot for the first couple years and after you deduct expenses and yes you will have expenses you may even be operating at a lower tax bracket.

grassman1
02-27-2006, 05:54 PM
Can't you get insurance as a sole proprietor? I'm assuming that as a SP you don't need a tax ID#. Don't you just file taxes with your personal income with a schedule C form?

LwnmwrMan22
02-27-2006, 05:56 PM
your a minor so it doesn't really matter you cant sign a contract so dont bother with commercial and you need a tax id # to get insurance. and as for your parents taxes you wont be making a whole lot for the first couple years and after you deduct expenses and yes you will have expenses you may even be operating at a lower tax bracket.

Don't listen to the people about signing the contract.