PDA

View Full Version : Just got my 7x16 in, but my 6truck wont pull it.

instyle
03-01-2006, 07:38 AM
I got my 7x16 enclosed trailer in. On Friday I bought a 94 Chev 1500 4x4, I hook it up and pull it down the high way and wow, I have to keep it in 3rd gear to keep 62mph. The truck has 5 gears (auto). This thing pulls like 3 tons of bricks. Not to mention the trailer is empty right now.

Should it be this hard or is there a problem with my truck?

ALarsh
03-01-2006, 07:46 AM
Look at it this way, now you have a great excuse to get a new truck.

instyle
03-01-2006, 07:55 AM
But, I just bought the damn thing. :)

I kinda like it.

eshreve1234
03-01-2006, 07:58 AM
My 7x16 only weighs 2000 lbs or so empty, and my truck does not even know its there ('01 F250). So, I would have to say its your truck.

Splicer
03-01-2006, 08:00 AM
How many miles on the truck?:confused:

topdog
03-01-2006, 08:07 AM
sounds like tranny problems to me, but i am no expert.

it shouldn't have a problem pulling even with a load on the trailer.

lawn masters 2006
03-01-2006, 08:41 AM
wht kind of motor u got?

work_it
03-01-2006, 08:47 AM
wht kind of motor u got?
That's what I was wondering. Even the 6 cylinder W/T's shouldn't have much of a problem pulling an empty trailer. Next question....what's your differential gear ratio?

FSully
03-01-2006, 08:56 AM
Parking Brake on?

Trailer brakes draging?

Overdrive turned off?

velocicaur
03-01-2006, 09:05 AM
You will need to stay in third to carry any speed and its better for the tranny to do so rather than shifting all the time everytime you need to gain some speed.

work_it
03-01-2006, 09:08 AM
You will need to stay in third to carry any speed and its better for the tranny to do so rather than shifting all the time everytime you need to gain some speed.
It's an automatic transmission.:hammerhead:

SPLC
03-01-2006, 09:13 AM
It's an automatic transmission.:hammerhead: