PDA

View Full Version : new guy;pricing confusion

stumpjumper
03-01-2006, 01:29 PM
i"m a new guy to this business, gonna retire next year at 55 and plan to start lawncare for other people this year. already have 2 trailors ,a pickup,a hustler 1742,2 cheap trimmers and a blower. i"v been visiting this site for about 6 weeks trying to fiquire out how to price. i don'have any overhead, but i want my prices to be in line with other operators in this area i.e. central oklahoma. any help from some in this area.

Precision Lawns
03-01-2006, 01:39 PM
You don't have ANY overhead? You don't have to pay for gas? Insurance? Telephone? I find it highly unlikely that you have a cost of doing business of $0.

stumpjumper
03-01-2006, 02:28 PM
i consider gas as a business expense. as for my telephone, i,m always gonna pay a phone bill whether i mow or not. and yes, everything else is paid for.i have been doing tractor work as a sideline for about 10 years and i had overhead when i still owed money on equipment.

daveintoledo
03-01-2006, 02:38 PM
you need to do some research on the cost of doing business, you have the same expenses everyone else has... what about your liability insurance you have to have, you have to factor in the cost of your equipment, paid for or not, and the replacement cost of the equipment, the homeowners equipment you have wont last the season , that will have to be replaced, and then figuring in the lifespan of the new commercial equipment and its replacement cost...depreciation on vehicles....advertising, licensing, on and on...the price of gas is overhead, a business expense is overhead.... the telephone.... doesnt matter if you already have it, ALL business costs must be figured in order to charge the proper amount....

stumpjumper
03-01-2006, 02:49 PM