PDA

View Full Version : Welcoming myself to a new adventure!

firehoyt
03-01-2006, 10:47 PM
Let me start by thanking all of you who participate in making this forum what it is! I've got several friends in the business but trying to get them to take the time for friendly advice is like pulling teeth. I've gotten most everything I've needed from this site. I'm a fulltime firefighter/paramedic and I'm getting into this as my second job. I've purchased a 36" Toro Belt drive floating deck with a 17hp Kohler, and a 21" toro. I wasnt sold on Toro and was leaning toward Gravely but I went to a "PRO DAY" sale in Birmingham and the Toro salesman was great! Still waiting for funding for my Stihl blower, trimmer, and edger. All pulled on a 5 X 8 trailer (parking issues at home). I should have my business cards back in a few days and I'll put one up for ya'lls opinion. The hardest thing I have found about starting out is just that, getting started! Everyone I talk to say...references, references, references....but you have to get a few yards on your own in order to establish those references. Any ideas on how to do that? Going to try flyers, door to door. So if anyone has any business in the Birmingham area, hit me up! I need it! Again thanks in advance for all your help!!!!

Mower 4 Less

Ocean Side
03-01-2006, 10:54 PM
Good Luck, I am in the same situation on seacoast NH, Full Time FF. Looking to do this on my days off. I also just purchased a 36' Pro Line as well. Any info that you would like to share or would like to get I am more than happy to help with. Good Luck!

RobertVF
03-02-2006, 06:53 PM
All the best and welcome to the site!

sheshovel
03-02-2006, 06:57 PM
Welcome!from me too

SamTheLawnMan
03-02-2006, 07:29 PM
I'm a Fire/Medic as well.... GREAT second job/income.

GOOD LUCK!!!!!!

salandscape
03-02-2006, 07:41 PM