PDA

View Full Version : guidelines to pricing

curiouslandscaper
03-05-2006, 05:23 PM
Hey guys I have been mowing for 2 years now but recently started doing landscape jobs. I have a few questions here that im sure most of you can help me with. 1.) How much to charge for spring cleanup...what is the avg company charging....if i included leaves, sticks and branches, trimming bushes and removal.

2.) How do you charge for edge and mulch jobs? Is 20 dollars an hour standard or for a small guy would it be bad to charge less to get the customers. I guess when i go and do estimates i look at over time and figure in around 20 dollar an hour. I just wanted some tips on how to write up the the invoice with different prices for different tasks. I was unsure if i should charge flat rate for bushes, then a rate for yard cleanup, and different rate for edging, and then mulching.

3.) what is the best way to clean up a huge tire rut in the front yard.... pretty sure its stupid question but just wanted to know how you would go about it.

My biggest problem is giving a quote and makeing sure im cheaper than the avg big company.....thanks guys...and ill look forward to your posts

nephilim0167
03-05-2006, 05:33 PM
refer to this:

http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=136066

curiouslandscaper
03-05-2006, 05:48 PM
yes i did read that......i guess i just was looking for a formula that would be handy to show customers or some kind of examples of what people charge... i was reading some posts earlier that 20 dollars an hour is standard but sometimes you dont account for things when estimating and could end up losing money and time. I have heard all kinds of things about edging. 1 dollar a foot depending on how much you have to do....

One more question.....i have been hand edging for a long time bc i feel it looks the best ...was interested in a gas edger from like lowes for 300 dollars and was not sure how well they work.

gqnine44
03-05-2006, 09:56 PM