PDA

View Full Version : Ignoramous, please help!

CSRA Landscaping
04-23-2001, 11:36 PM
Ok, you can call me a scrub and begin bashing me if you like, but I'm trying to learn. I am new in the biz, only been around for just under a year and I know nothing, virtually, of the ins-n-outs of the technical parts of landscaping. I'm tempted to just stick with lawncare because that's simple and I like simple. However, I find it increasingly difficult to do that, as there's $$ to be made doing l/s stuff and I'm constantly getting requests for it. So ... HELP!! Where do I go and what do I do to really learn about landscaping?? I need to know everything, from the bottom up, so no post is too simple. Thanks in advance, folks.

lawnboy82
04-23-2001, 11:49 PM
dont worry about learning everything. you couldnt do it if you had 100 years to learn in. there is so much info out there about so many different things. i would honestly say maybe learn the plants first. good way to do that is get some books. hang out at the nursery a lot. or go and work for somebody. if you really wanna get into it. try doing stuff at your own place for starters. someplace where you can try new things. so if you plant something and it dies you dont have to replace it, just learn. or if you want to put up a wall and it collapses you arent being sued for millions of dollars. or drainage, either it works or it doesnt. try doing that for a while. if not like i said go work for somebody.

John Allin
04-24-2001, 07:57 AM
And... you're not a scrub....
Scrubs don't want to learn.

greens1
04-24-2001, 08:56 PM
It's kind of like getting in a boat and sailing, all depends on which direction you want to head towards.

Start off small, that way your mistakes will be small, everyone makes them. Learn what you can from books, posts and use common sense.