PDA

View Full Version : Hedge Trimming

howardsells2000
03-09-2006, 07:55 PM
I'm new to the business. I'm going to give my first official free estimate in the morning. I've done many grass cuts and trims so I feel comfortable with estimating that part but this is going to be my first hedge trim estimate. It was an older man who called me who lives in a older neighborhood in the city. I have a feeling they are going to be way overgrown and very tall. I have been searching hedge trimming in the old posts. Most of the information was several years old. Should I charge by the foot, bush or hour? How do you guys do it. Thanks in advance for any advice. It's appreciated.

Green-Pro
03-09-2006, 08:12 PM
I charge by the bush with the average size bush being $12 to $15 per bush, I have had some that go $20 and on up to $45. Really it just depends on the size, I have a good idea on how long it will take to trim hedges with clippers and hand prunning, know what I need per hour based on all business costs and bid/estimate accordingly. Just be sure to not underbid yourself simply to get the job.

Good Luck

lawnspecialties
03-09-2006, 08:14 PM
I charge by the bush with the average size bush being $12 to $15 per bush, I have had some that go $20 and on up to $45. Really it just depends on the size, I have a good idea on how long it will take to trim hedges with clippers and hand prunning, know what I need per hour based on all business costs and bid/estimate accordingly. Just be sure to not underbid yourself simply to get the job.

Good Luck

What he said. Digging holes and hedge trimming have got to be the two areas I hate the most in lawn care.:angry:

CAG
03-09-2006, 08:23 PM