PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to Fertilizing...help?

Drivefaster35
03-10-2006, 12:01 AM
Hey guys I'm new to fertilizing and just got my app lisence from the state and about to by my first major bulf of fertilizer and I was wonder what anybodys opinion would be for crabgrass notrol I'm thinking of buying Deminsion .10 22-2-5 25%SCU any suggestions would be great I am new to fertilizing so hit me with whatever you may have for me open to all suggestions-thanks :usflag:

indyturf
03-10-2006, 11:09 AM
I would go with a lower N rate for the spring application, I use 13-3-7 and save the higher rates for fall apps.

Drivefaster35
03-10-2006, 11:49 AM
I thought about that to I think I might actually go with that I think I can get a 12-3-4 I plan on doing 5 applications per year any suggestions on the 4remander apps I'll post what I haveplanned later i'f that would help for suggestions its just I'm really not sure and dont wanna screw up someone's lawn I take pride in the work i have done in the past with mowing and hope to learn more and take pride it fertilizing as well over the next few years-thanks

Drivefaster35
03-11-2006, 01:24 AM
I forgot to ask why do you suggest using the lower N level in the Spring and the Higher level in the Fall???

griffy77
03-11-2006, 01:48 AM
since u live in iowa i wouldnt use anymore than 15% dimension, usually in combonation 19-0-4. As for the N level i wouldnt worry too much it has a 30% sulfur coating that will release it fast enough to give a quick green up by april if u apply now in March. In the south higher % of dimension is used. the best solution to controling crabgrass is to have a thick lawn. Control broadleaf in May with Monetum then in fall overseed and that will greatly reduce chances of crabgrass outbreak.