PDA

View Full Version : New to the Business!!!

solron
04-25-2001, 09:55 AM
I'm new to the lawn care/landscaping business. What's the best way to market your services and get new customers? Any ideals?

SolRon

Skippy
04-25-2001, 08:22 PM
Welcome, Your best bet is to do a search, read the threads, and decide for yourself. I think it's also a good idea to read up about marketing in books also. Marketing strategies differ everwhere you go.

lawnman_scott
04-28-2001, 02:11 AM
Flyers are good, also small local newspapers, preferaly the free ones that can be picked up at convieniance stores and places like that. you know at least the people will read them. You may get a complaint or two delivering flyers, but so be it, thats how i got alot of customers. Yellow page ads are great, but alot more costly, something to think about down the road. I get flyers printed for $20/1000, pay $8, and $14 for local ads, and $400 for a yellow page ad, just to give you an idea. A senior citizen publication is good, as many of them need a lawn service. Hope ive helped.

Kurt
05-01-2001, 10:53 PM
Originally posted by solron
I'm new to the lawn care/landscaping business. What's the best way to market your services and get new customers? Any ideals?

SolRon

I have many years in marketing consulting. This industry calls for direct contact, referals and sales.
I did the post cards with 2,700 pieces. After $1,200, I only got 3 phone calls not good when I was suppose to get more than 50 calls. But the good thing is that the 6 great customers. From each customer's location, I can do Direct Sales. Talk with people. Tell them what I do and how great I am and my Business.
Ask yourself: What makes you far better than your competition?
Ask me? I can write a book.
Great communications is the key to ANY business.