PDA

View Full Version : My most recent project...

thepawnshop
03-12-2006, 10:04 PM
OK, this is my first time trying to insert photos so lets see how this goes.

The site I am working on now from what I am hearing was used to dump alot of rock form an apartment complex that developed years ago. SO my biggest challenge has been moving these things. THe last time I had to deal with these friggen monsters, I had a JD 160 excavator and a JD 655 Series 2 track loader on site. Unfortunately, it looks like the excavator is coming back for a week. I need to slope the front yard at an angle (about 30%) and put the large stones in strategic places for landscaping. I also plan on taking the larger excavator and digging a pretty big hole to bury the smaller crap stone.

Here is what I am up against...the last shot is what I need these two front yards to look like.

thepawnshop
03-12-2006, 10:19 PM
The first pic was messed up...so here it is again:

Scag48
03-12-2006, 10:26 PM
Better call in for a 200...Those things are the size of Volkswagens. You could probably roll them around with a 160 but you might not be able to lift them, espcially on that slope.

Gravel Rat
03-12-2006, 11:10 PM
Those rocks are not big heck we were moving rocks bigger than that with a 161. The largest boulder we dug out it it was massive a 690 John Deere could just roll it. It would take two machines to lift it so all we did was dig a ledge out on a bank and stuck the rock on the ledge. It was the largest and smoothest boulder we have ever encoutered it was the size of a 1/2 ton regular cab P/U truck.

Those rocks that Doug has if he can have a hydraulic hammer on a mini excavator to split them in half it will make them more managable. You can roll them but with the house being so close it would be pretty crappy if it got away and rolled into the house.