PDA

View Full Version : flyers?? is it absolutely necessary

MowJoeLawnCare
03-29-2006, 01:55 PM
I am brand new in the business and I have got my equipment and everything ready to go. I have 3 accounts so far (though they are my friends its a start)and I began to run adds in 5 of the local papers and still no calls yet....So I am talking to my wife and telling her that I should do the flyer thing and she tells me to wait to use that as the last resort......becaaaause many many people that she talks to and knows detests the fact people come to their door and leave stuff, and they are kinda creeped out that someone was there that close to the house and they didn't know about it, and also there was a murder here recently by some people who were offering services door to door and then they would strong arm their way in the house rob the people and an elderly lady got murdered.....soo my ? is are flyers absolutely necessary? also I am trying to develop a letter to send to all the local realtors. Has anyone done this and if so may see a copy of their draft......
Thanks
JOe

Blade-o-grass
03-29-2006, 02:49 PM
Joe,
In my experience I have found that passing out flyer's is in fact necessary for the following reasons:

1 It gives you momentum. When you hit the "nobody is calling" slump, you can grab a handful of flyers and do something constructive. It helps me concentrate on the job at hand instead of what is NOT happening.

2. They actually work. I average at least one call per 100 flyers that I pass out. If after 100 flyers, 99 people were freaked out because a potential kill was so close to there house and only 1 person smiled because they finally got a # from someone who will mow their lawn then it would be worth it all. Focus on the 1 who actually wants what you have to offer.