PDA

View Full Version : Asking for more money after job is completed???

G.M.Landscaping
03-31-2006, 07:02 PM
Do you ever ask for more money after the job is completed? Every now and then I underbid a job. Sometimes it's just on materials, other on just labor. Sometimes both. Most of the time I just eat it if it's not much. Last year I did a job and needed $500 more worth of material and labor. I told the customer I needed more mulch then what I bid. They said no problem , we understand, just add on what is neccesary including the labor. I would of lost big time if they said no.

So I did it again today. Underbid it for 3 more hrs of work. $50 an hour ,so $150.
Would you say something like: Wow that took longer then I was expecting. There was more work then I thought.
See if they bite. Or is this just too unprofessional?

olderthandirt
03-31-2006, 07:04 PM
Or is this just too unprofessional?

You said it nicely!

Madstriper
03-31-2006, 07:05 PM
Im a newbie, just starting out solo, but that, to me, sounds like your problem.
If you presented yourself as a professional, bid the job, and didnt bid enough, I feel like you should eat it and just consider it a lesson learned (OK, Twice).
Live and learn, just remember to learn. You got lucky on the first one last year.
Dont get me wrong, I still am worried about my bidding ability, but, well, I am hoping to learn from everyones mistakes, mine included.

sheshovel
03-31-2006, 07:33 PM