PDA

View Full Version : Good idea for escavation?

DanThompson
04-02-2006, 11:50 AM
I have been doing hardscapes for a couple years with the company i work for in MD, and lately I have been getting a few side jobs for sidewalks and patios. I own all of the equipment necessary to complete a hardscape job, but I don't own a bobcat to excavate. I think I came up with a pretty good solution to make the job much easier by using my Brown trenchmaster edger with a 7'' rotor on it to make slots in the ground, and then prying the dirt in between the slots out. It makes for a perfect looking excavation with no damage to the yard. Me and one helper did the work in the picture in one 8 hour day.
http://www.droplight.50g.com/escavated.jpg
The left of the sidewalk will be a raised plant bed by the way.
Do you guys think this is a good idea for a small company who cant get their hands on a bobcat quite yet?

GreenMonster
04-02-2006, 12:01 PM
I think I'd rather rent a Bobcat.

DanThompson
04-02-2006, 02:46 PM
well..i dont have a trailer either and to rent a decent sized bobcat and trailer its like $250/day. doing it this way lowers your cost and leaves no damage to the yard. more work..yes

GreenMonster
04-02-2006, 02:52 PM
what do you do with your spoils? My concern is more about loading spoils into a wheelbarrow, and then into a truck -- all by hand:cry: . Also, installing 5,6,7, or more ton of gravel by hand seems is a lot of work.

What about renting a mini-skid? Line up your jobs and rent it for a week at a time.

DanThompson
04-02-2006, 04:05 PM