PDA

View Full Version : Topsoil job


NNJLandman
04-08-2006, 02:37 PM
Guys I need some help on this estimate, Im having the most difficult time trying to figure out exactely how much topsoil im going to need, frist I plan on leaving the yard off with an excavator dozer blade and using fill dirt or sand and going over top with 2" of topsoil. Yard is 8-10,000sqft. can someone tell me how much topsoil I will need, thanks.

Jeff

jpmako
04-08-2006, 08:37 PM
Jeff,

To achieve your 2" depth you would need the following

8000 Sqft = 49.4 Yards
9000 Sqft = 55.6 Yards
10000 Sqft = 61.7 Yards

Hope this helps

Jason

gammon landscaping
04-08-2006, 08:47 PM
one thing you guys might want to remember is that when you messure the inside of a truck that you will get around 16-20 yards(tadem axle dumps) but when you take that material and spread it and it compacts you will only have 10-12 yards max. the reason is that the truck will not be compleatly toped off and that compaction factor. just an fyi