PDA

View Full Version : What to charge?

Wing 97
04-13-2006, 08:25 PM
I'm trying to come up with a reasonable rate to charge for operator and 331 excavator to start out. Obvisously I'm new to the buisness and will eventually charge by the job once I have a better grasp on what I can accomplish in a certain amount of time. I know when we start to talk numbers it gets a little personal but any suggestions would help. BTW I purchased the machine as stated in previuos threads to slowly get out of the property maintenance buisness so I would appreciate comments like "you bought an excavator before you knew how much it would make" kept to a minimum. Thanks for any suggestions.

Scag48
04-13-2006, 09:07 PM
We charge $85 an hour for our 303CR but we're the only ones with this size of machine, aside from having someone go rent. I wouldn't go any lower than $75 an hour for a machine of that size, you shouldn't have any problems drumming up business at that hourly rate.

ksss
04-13-2006, 09:20 PM
We $75.00 an hour on 12K machine. I wish I could get more but thats all my market will bear. I matched the rate backhoes are here and that the market I am in.

Wing 97
04-13-2006, 09:32 PM
Thanks for the reply guys. Right now I have a small stump removal job a a 30x30 garage foundation to be dug. Not so concerned about stump removal but should I base the fee for 8 hr day for a foundation that size? Sould be fairly easy digging.

ksss
04-13-2006, 09:52 PM