PDA

View Full Version : Getting on the books (help Me out)

ptlawnguy
04-28-2006, 10:30 AM
This is my second year cutting 2 good yards. I am a wood shop teacher (with summers off) and enjoy lawn care. I Have three acres myself. My question is (1) How much money should I be bringing in a month before I get an official business? I do plan on doing this for MANY years. (2) What kind of hoops do I have to jump through to have a real business? I would be happy bringing is $300.00 bucks a month. I am not out to quit my job and go full time. I think I have the best job in the world next to Hugh Heffner. Lastly (3) Can I have signs on my trailer if my business is not legit?

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

weathervane
04-28-2006, 07:10 PM
if you are only making 300.00 a month or a week it is not worth paying all the taxes and insurance that go along with a real business.as far as signs go they wont hurt.

1MajorTom
04-28-2006, 07:30 PM
Personally we hate paying taxes when the next guy isn't. Why shouldn't you have to pay taxes on the money you make whether it's $10 or 10,000 a month? No one will know right if you cut a few lawns on the side huh?

The State of Pennsylvania will require you to collect sales tax on your mowing services. It will be either 6% or 7% depending upon what county you live in. Now mind you, not all services are sales taxable, it gets confusing what is and what isn't sales tax, so you can reference some of that here at: http://www.taxback.state.pa.us/revenue/cwp/view.asp?A=299&Q=208974

You will need to get an EIN #, and your sales tax id number, and a DBA once you get a business name picked out. You will file your sales tax online at:
http://www.etides.state.pa.us/default.htm, depending upon how much money you make, it will either be filed quarterly or monthly..

Business insurance is not that much and something you should have incase you have an accident while on a customer's property. Erie Insurance is the best rates we have ever found.