PDA

View Full Version : One Man Operations

howardsells2000
04-29-2006, 04:22 PM
This is my first year in the business. I was wondering if you guys that run your business alone offer other services besides cutting grass during the grass growing season. I have about 75 accounts now. Not all of them are every week cuts. I have a hard time just keeping all of the grass cut. People ask me all the time to get mulch or trim bushes but I really don't seem to have time for that. From what I have read on this site, it seems that there is alot of money to be made with the extra services.

I really want to work by myself. I don't want to take on more than I can handle. I am still learning everyday. Maybe it is something that you work up to. In the spring or fall I can do other things.

Just courious how you guys and girls handle all of this.

J Hisch
04-29-2006, 04:48 PM
getting your business plan lined out will help you alot. You are very correct when you say you dont have time for the extra's. What you might consider is finding another capable indivual who could assit with the extra's. Doing that when you are cutting. Or you might decrease your mowing to allow time for the extra's. But the extra work will die off at times. If I was in your shoes I would find a part-timer with a second shift job to do some work for you. Or just galdy reccommed soemone else. You can be all thing to all folks being solo unless you keep your client base very small and provide full service to everyone.

mrbray101
04-29-2006, 05:00 PM
Maybe if you got a helper you could set it up where you mow mon-thursday and save friday and saturday for extra services, rain days, or maintenance days. I do not have a full schedule yet so I enjoy getting the extra jobs because they are a bonus. I just did a 15 yard mulch job friday that took 5 hours and was bid at 1050 so I think that pretty good money can be made from extras like mulching, trimming, small landscape jobs, cleanups, etc. Good luck to you.