PDA

View Full Version : pricing questions

jlisnock
04-29-2006, 09:44 PM
How should I price this?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am brand new in the business of charging for the work. Although I am not new in the business of doing the work.
I am building two beds, roughly 500 sq. ft. total, and mulching.
I am also thatching, laying topsoil, and seeding a lawn area of 1000sq.ft.
That's just the back yard. Cut it in half for the front.
One crew member plus myself. How should I start my calculations of the estimate?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

topsites
04-29-2006, 10:28 PM
wow ...

Ok so you're building beds, will you be surrounding these with timbers?

As for thatching I can not help you because I aerate thou if the prices are comparable, but... a thousand square feet?
Are you sure because that's an awful small area...
Go to http://www.zillow.com and type in the customer's address and zip code, now that will not give you the turf area but it will give you the total land they own... Now if most of it is woods or whatever then ok, but if most is turf...
Anyway, let me know if zillow re-guides your size estimate, it just sounds awful small...

jlisnock
04-29-2006, 10:41 PM
good catch, thanks
it is 10,000 sq.ft.

Also no timber edging

topsites
04-29-2006, 11:03 PM
Ok let's try again then:

Assuming dethatching and core aeration are about the same, I would do 10k square feet for 40 dollars aerated since you're doing other stuff as well.
Seed, I'd recommend 50 pounds so 100 dollars.
Add a bag of starter fertilizer and 2-3 maybe 4 bags of lime, 60 bucks so lets say 200 for all that blablabla. I dare say dethatching is more work because you have to clean up afterwards, add another 40.