PDA

View Full Version : A good start up mower

BQLC
04-29-2006, 11:58 PM
I am just getting started or trying to and I have a chance to purchase a Ferris 36" walk behind. my question is is this a good start up mower or should I go with another one?

alyssa
04-30-2006, 12:04 AM
I was just going to ask the same question. My son's friend offered us a riding mower for $400 and we were considering it and now I can't think of the name. I will be back when I find out lol.

topsites
04-30-2006, 12:09 AM
A good start-up mower would be most anything used at a fair price (meaning market or street value), so long it is a commercial model.

The 36" is too small for my tastes and I am a T-bar boy, but other than that I'd say it would be a go-getter, certainly better and faster than any rider, it would suit customers with those 3-foot gates whom I turn away because the gate is too small for my machine.

BQLC
04-30-2006, 12:22 AM
the price is what caught my attention but was unsure if I should not get a zero turn rider
Do you have a suggetion on trailer size? I can get the mower and trailer for less than 3 thousand.
Whatcha think?

Mad_Russian776
05-01-2006, 04:01 AM
I'm actually in your exact situation, just starting out and considering a 36" Ferris wb. My local dealer has the Ferris beltdrive priced at $2700.

My reasoning for going with the 36" is the versatility in terms of fitting through narrow gates. Being that i'm new, I cannot afford to turn customers away.

Trailer size...I'll repeat the opinion shared by most others on this forum. Go with the 6x12 over a 5x8. You will have less manuevering of equipment and you will likely soon outgrow the smaller trailer.

FinerCutslawnCare
05-01-2006, 01:24 PM