PDA

View Full Version : I need Railroad Tie wall help

Ric3077
04-30-2006, 06:06 PM
I do mostly lawn and landscape...not too much with walls...I am ripping out an our rr tie wall and putting it back it. Old one is rotted and the customer hates stone walls. He wants the same thing. Anyway...I am looking for someone in the St. Charles, MO area that I can sub it out to. It's about 65 feet of material. Not too big. Anyhelp would be appreciated thanks!

Ric3077
05-05-2006, 10:51 AM
I am going to try doing it myself....anyone have any tips?

neversatisfiedj
05-05-2006, 11:17 AM
what do u want 2 know ?

Ric3077
05-05-2006, 09:56 PM
I have never done one before...ever...so I am glad my first one is only 3 timbers high...what is the best way to start...bury one timber and anchor it with rods and then stack another layer and nail em in or? Any and all help is appreciated thanks!!!!!!

mrusk
05-05-2006, 10:07 PM
Its a tiny wall. Just talking them into a block wall outta that small block you buy at depot. It will be quicker than messing with ties.

It seems like most people lean towards a rr tie wall to save money. Honest, on any SRW that does not include grid, i can not see how you can save any money with ties. It seems like you might save some money on material, but labor will be much more for the extra excavation for the deadman.

Ric3077
05-05-2006, 10:31 PM