PDA

View Full Version : How thick to go

rossignol5
05-03-2006, 02:34 PM
I have a question for whoever can answer. I am trying for a new mowing contract and they would like me to mulch i was told that 2" was about the going thickness to spread mulch, and i have to cover 2485 Sq. Ft. and it comes to 15.3 yards that sound like a lot for what i am covering. Should i go with the 2" or maybe less. The owner said to use my judgment.

I have been mowing for five years and newbie with mulch.

Thanks Derek Rossignol
Cornville ME
:confused:

foggyjr5
05-03-2006, 02:38 PM
Is there mulch there now or do you need to put mulch there? If there is already mulch there I would just add like a 1" layer on top of what is there, if there is nothing there or you are taking out the old stuff I would add a layer of 2"-3".

mrbray101
05-03-2006, 06:53 PM
Yeah if there is already mulch there just do 1-1.5". A word of advice, if you dump it then spread it by hand or rake its hard to do it that thin. The easiest way I have found is to pitch the mulch into the beds with some force with a snow shovel or large pitchfork. This gives is a nice even this layer. Also, instead of using a wheelbarrow, if you have truck access its much faster to load the truck with a yard or two from the pile and drive it around and pitch out of the back instead of having to wheelbarrow everthing. Good luck, make sure you charge enough and mulching can be quite a money maker.

rossignol5
05-03-2006, 09:13 PM
You guys and gal's are great. It is very well appreciated. I cant say enough about this site and every one involved a life and money saver.

Proud to be :usflag:
you guys and gal's are:cool2:

cessnasovereign
05-04-2006, 12:42 AM
mulching can be quite a money maker.

:dancing: Heck yeah! I went around a neighborhood today and got 12 mulch jobs. I pay $21 a yard and am charging $40 a yard plus $30 a yard to put out. Oh and from another job I figured that a yard of mulch covers about 180 sq ft, right?

topsites