PDA

View Full Version : Best Mowers

blkbutterflyy
05-04-2006, 10:45 AM
I am just starting out and need to buy equipment. I have been researching and have decided to go with some push mowers and i just want to know what are the best ones for a business something that is durable. I was going to buy a tractor but I think that is too much for this starting stage of my business maybe when I get more clients. What should I look for when I go out to purchase. I am in Missouri and I am only doing residential cutting (nothing too big). I was thinking of buying two mowers and a trimmer to get me started. What do you guys think.

mike lane lawn care
05-04-2006, 10:03 PM
ok, just starting out i would get a toro homeowner personal pace, or the commercial super recycler. or a honda mower. you should get self-propelled(rear wheel drive is best) with a bagger and mulching capabilities.

for a trimmer i love my echo. i just got quoted $199.99 for a sthil FS55R straight shaft trimmer,it looks very good.

you also should think about a leaf blower, backpack ones are good, but can be expensive, echo and sthil both make some very good handheld leafblowers.

other things are rakes, brooms, shovels, buckets, and spare mower parts and blades.

i am just starting to brach out of my neighborhood as of last year, see the equipment listed below?. they are very good and serve the purpose, in fact today, i was mowing a yard with the simplicity broadmoor and had several joggers stop to tell me how nice the stripes look on the lawn.

Jnamo
05-04-2006, 10:34 PM
Toro! Toro! Toro!
Get one from a lawn mower shop-not home cheapo. The decks are different and you will pay for it in the long run. Spend some cash and get a good mower (Toro).
Get a good blower, that eliminates a ton of time during clean up.

mike lane lawn care
05-04-2006, 11:04 PM
also i forgot to add, you can get a good used commercial walk behind for little money.

totallawncare912
05-04-2006, 11:53 PM