PDA

View Full Version : How do you justify asking for payments in winter...?

jmartin
05-09-2006, 08:46 PM
Hi, everyone. New guy here. First, let me say that this is a great site! I've learned a lot just poking around on here.

I've just decided to start seriously planning my new lawncare/landscaping business. I have some experience in lawncare, just received a degree in landscape design, and want to make this my profession.

My question is, how do you respond to a customer if they ask why they should pay the same monthly fee in Dec/Jan/Feb as they do in the spring/summer months? I would like to mainly offer 12 month contracts to my customers.

Also, I plan on offering pressure washing and aeration services and was wondering how popular these services are in general, or what other services could be profitable.

I appreciate any advice you guys could give to this "newbie". Thanks!

BSDeality
05-09-2006, 09:05 PM
you're just breaking the payments up into 12 months, but working hard for 10 of them.

jmartin
05-09-2006, 09:20 PM
I see what you're saying, but you know some clients will ask why they still have to pay during winter for services you can only perform in the other warmer months.

If I fill out a contract saying I will mow, trim, and blow 2/ month for "$X" amount each month, then what services do I offer for the winter to justify the same fee? A lot of people won't buy the explanation you gave above, even though I understand and agree with it. I just want to know how to explain this to customers so I don't lose any jobs because they think I am ripping them off.

Thanks for the advice, I appreciate it!

HOOLIE
05-09-2006, 09:25 PM
You're not offering a dang thing in the winter...say for instance, 30 cuts at $30 apiece ($900), $300 total for leaf removal, that comes to $1200...split over 12 months that's $100 per month. They could pay over 9 months or whatever, it would just be higher.