PDA

View Full Version : Do harley rakes blow hydraulic lines?

mr. niceguy
05-19-2006, 01:13 PM
Hi, noob here. I was looking for info on power rakes and stumbled on this site, where I've found not only a lot of good discussion about them but about a lot of other very relevant landscaping stuff. Nice place.

One thing I gathered in all the discussions about Harleyrakes and Rockhounds is the mention a couple of times about blown hydraulics from digging the drum of the Harley rake too deep. I've used a Rockhound before with no problems but it seems from what I've read here that a power rake is usually preferred if only one attachment is to be used. I have 75 tons of topsoil, 25 of it very rocky, and I plan to get a bobcat and probably a Harley type power rake. My one concern is that it may be prone to blowing a line from a moment or even a few seconds of hard grinding or hanging up.

I was hoping the unit could actually dig out half buried rocks of less than 4-5 inches, but I don't want to be constantly worrying about blowing a line.

Any advice?

Thanks,
Chip

Mike33
05-19-2006, 09:41 PM
I own a bobcat 185 and have had a 5a landscape rake for 10 years and very happy with it. Now im hearing about the harley rake , does any one have any pics of them. And how do they compare to the landscape rake?
Mike

AintNoFun
05-19-2006, 10:16 PM
i have a cat 248 with i think a 7 foot glenmac harley rake never had any problems. just bought a dingo as well with a harley rake haven't had any problems within the month we've had it. if its a concern for you i'd rent the setup just for that job if it breaks bring it back.....

Lawnworks
05-19-2006, 10:22 PM
What about having an extra pair of lines just in case? They can't be that much. I love my harley rake.

Cahsking
05-19-2006, 11:40 PM