PDA

View Full Version : Seeding Time

iowa
05-23-2006, 12:06 AM
This is my first time seeding a lawn with a tractor and drill seeder. This area is in the country, and all they need done is the ground tilled up and seeded with a drill seeder. It's a half acre, how long should it take me? I'm familiar with these tractors, just never seeded a lawn before.

topsites
05-23-2006, 04:02 AM
I am sorry but for most types of turf it is way too late in the spring to be seeding... Summer is right around the corner and it takes seed 30-to-60 days (but really 60 days) to grow into what I would consider fully matured, adult grass. If it isn't at least halfway there by the time July and 104+ temps hit, the grass will not survive, that's if it even germinates this late in the spring, at least here in virginia the worst of the HIGH growth rate of spring is over, and once it starts to slow down, it keeps slowing down into July.

You could, in a pinch, use double the amount of seed you'd normally use and then you have to WATER the heck out of it (2+ hours / day if no rain) and use a TON of 10-10-10 as well and even then it is very questionable and a big expense, likely a waste.

I've had customers who thought that, because I'm a green thumb kind of guy, that the above would not happen and they insisted that I seed around late May anyway. I did it once because the customer insisted and I wanted to see for myself, and I'll never do it again.

Just my .002

freddyc
05-24-2006, 11:01 PM
topsites

Here in Ma, it's still 40 at night and only crawling into the 60's during the day. At this rate, I think seeding here is still OK....its late by the calendar, but by the ground temp its still fairly cold. Its probably really a regional thing this year.

We had a load of rain in the last couple weeks and only now is it starting to dry out a little.

TMT
05-24-2006, 11:19 PM