PDA

View Full Version : hourly rate?

thelawnrangerpc
06-20-2006, 12:48 AM
I am new in the business. Can someone give me a good idea of what hourly rate I should use to figure out my bids.

MMLawn
06-20-2006, 12:57 AM
YOUR cost of doing business per hour + YOUR needed Profit above that cost = YOUR charge per hour.......and only YOU can answer your question

Petr51488
06-20-2006, 01:10 AM
YOUR cost of doing business per hour + YOUR needed Profit above that cost = YOUR charge per hour.......and only YOU can answer your question

I could not of said it better myself..

HighGrass
06-20-2006, 06:41 PM
It's true...only you can best determine what you should charge. Try doing:waving: a search for the details of that giant venture:rolleyes:

Precision
06-20-2006, 08:56 PM
The search button is your friend.
There is probably 40 hours of reading on that topic.

but it boils down to what was stated above. But remember it doesn't matter what rate you charge if it is below your cost. be it $10 per hour or $100 per hour.

Personally I have different rates for different types of work. my base rate that covers my costs and profit. Then higher rates based on what I know people will pay for hedge trimming, sodding, poison ivy removal, jungle taming or whatever.

Example. I am cutting the lawn of a .17 acre gross lot property tomorrow. I am getting $175 for a single cut.
I know the city is coming to do it and they will charge at least $250.
I will brush blade it down, edge and line trim and be out in less than an hour.
does my hourly rate fit into this at all. NO
but I know I am making a mint and the customer feels like he is getting a deal instead of having the city do it.

So everyone wins.

Flex-Deck
06-20-2006, 09:21 PM