PDA

View Full Version : What should I do about weeds?

TNT Lawncare
06-20-2006, 11:29 PM
Ok. This is my first year doing this full time on my own. I managed to scrape together about 15 accounts grossing about $900 per week working by myself 4 easy days per week. How ever, one or three depending on how you look at it are apartments owned by the same company. For the most part these are crappy apts and really need work on not only the landscaping but the buildings themselves. To start out, I probably undercut the price by about half of what they paid last year but I needed the business. Early in the year when I bid out these places, the property manager asked what I do about weeds. Now in March there were no weeds and every thing looked fine. I said if I saw a couple I would pull them and be done with it. Now the landscaping is more weeds than anything. I have sprayed with several gallons of round up because this manager expected me to pull all these weeds by hand. It would take me and 10 other guys a month to pull these by hand. Should I just keep eating the bill for the round up and next year know better? What would you guys do?

Brian

dcgreenspro
06-20-2006, 11:43 PM
it doesn't sound like you have a pesticide license, so do what you can to make it look good. if i were in your shoes, i would pony up some dough to have one of the lco on this website come spray it for you. Hope everything works out.

naturescape
06-21-2006, 06:37 AM
Better not be putting down Roundup unless you're licensed to do so, which you obviously aren't -- you could be paying large fines for this.

The weeds are in beds/etc? Or the lawn? Cut the lawn HIGH, 3 1/2" or more, that will help there. Otherwise, you'll need to simply explain that the weeds are worse than you thought they would be, and they will need to hire a licensed applicator to take care of them.

Charles
06-21-2006, 08:04 AM
15 accounts grossing 900$ a week?:rolleyes: I can believe the 4 easy days part