PDA

View Full Version : starting an excavation business

bobbyg18
06-20-2006, 11:39 PM
good site...finding a lot of useful info...

i am a full time firefighter and have a very convienent schedule to start a small business...i plan on buying an excavator and get into the excavation business...i plan on focusing on smaller jobs, mostly residential etc...

my question to all is how comparable are all the compact excavators in the 3-4 ton catergory...I am trying to figure out if i should go with a Cat 303 or a Bobcat 331 or a Volvo EC30...any help would be appreciated...

Tigerotor77W
06-20-2006, 11:51 PM
Welcome to the site! And above all, thanks for the line of work you're in. It's been a long-standing thought of mine that many civil officers -- firefighters, paramedics, and police officers, for instance -- are among those who deserve a tremendous amount of gratitude but who are least thanked regularly. :clapping:

As far as your situation goes, I'm curious as to what jobs you plan to do. Of the models you listed, I know the 303C CR is a zero-tail swing machine (stop me if that makes no sense). While the performance gap has narrowed somewhat, you may want to consider whether ZTS is really necessary. Furthermore, other requirements such as machine size, ground clearance, ground pressure, cab comforts (AC?), servicability, and dealer service (huge!) are all very important factors to consider. Forgive me for sounding patronizing, but it's important to try to evaluate everything before deciding on a machine first. Size the machine around the work you plan to do, rather than get a feel for a "general idea of the work you'll do" and then find that the machine is too big, or too small.