PDA

View Full Version : Opinion on this truck please.

nautiq544
06-23-2006, 09:44 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1,1&item=140000532972&ih=004&sspagename=STRK%3AMEBI%3APIC

Please check out the truck listed above. I need a truck for my lawn company here in Orlando. I think I want an old Toyota dually. Was the dually a factory option, or is it something people did. Whatís your opinion of the 22RE motor? I probably will weld a ramp on the back of the truck to drive my mowers up on.

Any info on this kind of truck would be appreciated. I am not familiar with old Toyota Pickups. New to Toyota in general.

BSDeality
06-23-2006, 10:02 PM
I'm new to the Toyota fan-club, but I have a 94 Toyota with the 22RE. It runs great. If you think you can work this like a 1 ton ford/chevy/dodge you're fooling yourself, but it will work great as a "light" truck. I'm not sure if/how the dually's are setup differently. but when I have about 500-600lbs in the back of mine you definitely know the weight is back there. It's pretty gutless going up hill. It brakes well, but acceleration isn't a word known the Toyota when there is weight in it.

Replacing the brake lines was a major PITA on mine, but this has the dump bed, so it would be easy to access the rear lines (where more of the problems happen). Replacing the parking brake isn't too bad, but its a dealer only part and runs about $70. That is the only truck I would consider loading WB's in and out of because of the low load height.

rodzilla94
06-23-2006, 10:07 PM