PDA

View Full Version : Zero turn mower recomendation?????

jjscott32
06-24-2006, 11:13 PM
Please help? I am new to the commercial lawn mower market and looking for a mower that will mow my one acre non hilly yard with a couple of trees...but also want something that will do a 13 acre development and not take a super long time. I was thinking about a zero turn, and maybe an attachment to suck up autumn leaves. I don't like to buy crappy stuff! What do you recommend? I have heard that Exmark were the best, but when I went in to look at them the dealer tried to sell me a Hustler (the mower, not the other thing). They said that Exmark's were not as reliable. I think he gets a kickback or something for selling the Hustler. Opinions on Scag, Graverly, John Deere, Hustler, Exmark, Snapper?
Any help would be appreciated.

dfischer
06-25-2006, 06:13 AM
JJ:

You're going to get 3 classes of posts.

1) The few that will help with this question (that at this moment doesn't yet deserve a lot of attention)

2) A number of "what I own is the best" respones from the masses.

3) Answers a bit like mine that say:

This gets asked about twice a week. I'm thinking you'll be way ahead if you read, do some searches, and get ramped up before asking the same old thing. Then go visit some dealers. Then come back and read some more. THEN ask questions.

BTW, you'll find carefull reports of some in depth reviews and soul searching decisions by many already in the archive. More data in here then you'll ever get from simple responses to your question.

There are many on this site that have been there done that. (I'm not one of them, I'm really am just giving you the best advise) But to get their advise you'll need to have at least tried to get the basics.

stryper
06-25-2006, 09:20 AM
Best is a relative term. Anything commercial will handle one flat acre with no problem; thirteen acres may be another story. Are you after reliability? Quality of cut? Ease of service? Comfort?