PDA

View Full Version : plastic tank, pump questions

jandjsales
06-26-2006, 05:46 PM
Hi guys, i'm new here and i see there is alot of controversy about the plastic tote tank and plastic pump set ups. I know plastic tanks and i know pumps, because i have been selling them for over 15 years. I can say for certain the tote tanks are not good for long term use, they are thin and if it wasn't for the steel cage they would bust from the material weight alone. a good quality tank can be bought from your nearest farm store, they are typically a minmum of 1/4" thick, (the tote tanks are about 1/16" thick). the better tank is available in several shapes and sizes and they have UV inhibitors to prevent sun damage, typical warranty is three years, and the good ones will hold a product that weighs about 12-13 pounds per gallon. any plastic is not really intended for petroleum products since the plastic is a petroleum based product and petroleum products will cause the plastic to soften, however i have sold several tanks and i know petroleum products are stored in them with no problems so far (7 plus years). these guys looking for an addition to their other home services want something they can get into cheap to get started, large commercial jobs should be left to the pros with the proper equipment. the pumps are cheap plastic pumps, but you can rebuild that pump for less than $100.00. I went through the same controversy when hydroseeding got big, a mechanicaly agitated hydroseeder would cost about 15 grand and was great for large commercial jobs, but for residential jobs i was building jet agitated rigs for less than 3 grand, my basic hydroseeder used a plastic pump, spraying a solution of mulch, granular fertilizer, seed and water and they worked great.

Thanks, Jeff grant

adam's landscaping
07-12-2007, 03:48 AM
Jeff i would like any information on how you built your machines?

right now im building one
525 gallon tank