PDA

View Full Version : Lawnboy duraforce RPM?


bwalker
06-27-2006, 10:25 AM
My duraforce is currently runnign at 3200 rpm and doesnt seem to have the power it should. Has anyone turned up the RPMs a bit via the air vane adjuster?
I dont want to hurt reliability, but I would like it to have more snot, especially when mulching.

lawnboy dan
06-27-2006, 04:42 PM
as my name says -i know lawnboys-turn the white colar on the air vane clockwise to increase rpm- counter clock to decrease . about 4 clicks should do it.

bwalker
06-27-2006, 05:49 PM
I know how to adjust the RPM. My quesrtion is will the motor die a early death from turning it up and how many RPM to run? Four clicks doent tell me much because as delivered it was only turning 2300 rpm and I had to turn it up more than four to get it to the rpm it is at now.

128Steve
06-27-2006, 06:09 PM
Ben:

My duraforce is set at 3650 rpm's with a 32/1 of 2t. Have over 200 hours in Texas heat and it appears to be running better than ever. Certainly better than it did; though a new jet helped here greatly. Rarely bogs and shows its power. Does not lose power after hours of mowing so I am thinking it is otay :clapping: Just my 2c.

bwalker
06-27-2006, 06:47 PM
Certainly better than it did; though a new jet helped here greatly.
Is this a part from LB or did you drill your existing jet out?
I need to rejet one of my lawnboys as it surges, but the deal;er says LB doesnt sell a larger jet.

lawnboy dan
06-27-2006, 10:59 PM
each click ia aprox 100 rpm. you will have to drill out the jet as there is no larger jet aval from toro/lawnboy. some of us have replaced the low speed jet with a suzki toro jet which is a bit bigger . it could help. 3600 rpm is about as high as i would go. it wont hurt it as you can always back off the throttle a bit.

bwalker
06-27-2006, 11:02 PM
How much larger do you drill it out?

bwalker
06-27-2006, 11:03 PM
BTW I just found out the some of the Toro snowblowers that use the duraforce engine spec a 4000 max RPM so 3600 shouldnt hurt it one bit.

128Steve
06-28-2006, 07:31 PM
Ben:

I have a factory Briggs & Stratton 801308 jet which is larger than stock or you can have a jet opened up by (Rich) Mtgrs737. He was nice enough to do two jets for me. I am using one which has been very helpful with making the duraforce 10324 I am using non-surging and smoother running. Rich does good work:dancing:

The stock was .0145, which he opened up to .016. Send me a PM and I will be happy to mail you the one you want.

Here is some good reading on the subject http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/lmower/msg1023241720400.html

bwalker
06-29-2006, 04:23 PM
I order the R-tech pilot jet today. Hopefully I wont have to drill out he pilot.