PDA

View Full Version : Toro 8 hour Hydraulic filter change.

DJL50
07-05-2006, 10:16 PM
I have a new 400 Z master Toro ZTR. I have made it to the 8 hour Hydraulic oil filter change. A few questions.

1) No where in the owners manual does it say anything about changing the Hydraulic oil itself. Only the filter. Do I not also have to change the oil?

2) If I take off the oil filter won't all the oil run out of the system? So I will be changing all the oil right?

Jim@MilkyWay
07-05-2006, 10:37 PM
I pondered this same question once on a Kubota diesel, and after running a lot of expensive fluid out on the ground, I realized that, if I had parked my machine such that the filter was as "high" as possible, then most of the fluid will be as low as possible. Does that make any sense at all? In other words, tip the machine to one side and/or front to back and let gravity give you a hand keeping fluid out of the filter inlet/port. Screw the old filter off and have the new filter ready to go on like, right now.

DJL50
07-05-2006, 11:42 PM
I pondered this same question once on a Kubota diesel, and after running a lot of expensive fluid out on the ground, I realized that, if I had parked my machine such that the filter was as "high" as possible, then most of the fluid will be as low as possible. Does that make any sense at all? In other words, tip the machine to one side and/or front to back and let gravity give you a hand keeping fluid out of the filter inlet/port. Screw the old filter off and have the new filter ready to go on like, right now.