PDA

View Full Version : 17hp briggs /craftsman mower

broken mower
07-08-2006, 05:30 PM
Hi guys , not in business just mow at home . I have 2 acres of grass and I have a craftsman 17hp OHV Briggs & Stratton mower . M#311707 .

Second year I've owned it (Its 90s model ), and I changed the oil before the first cut this yr . It died on the second cut this year (wifes been push mowing , phew) .Anyway , it ran , then when I engaged the mower deck or put it under and type of load it ran real ruff and blew a THICK white smoke...like thick enough the fire dept might get worried , no lie . It would then stall .

I did a compression check at it reads 80 . I'm no mechanic , don't know where to go from here . I am mechanically inclined though and do my own vechicle worked..swaped engines ect , so I should be able to handle this . I was planning on maybe getting a rebuild kit , guessing piston rings , and the thick white is oil burning ?

Figured I better ask people who know what thier doing before I do anything major . I did peek under the valve cover , and took the rockers off to spin the valves thinking maybe a piece of junk goit under one , weather I have them on correctly or not now is unsure . I doubt it because I cant keep it running now .

Any help would be great .

Restrorob
07-09-2006, 10:29 PM
It's hard to say what caused the white smoke, I have seen condensation in a engine cause this.
Looks like you need to get the valves back in order so you can do some more testing if that doesn't solve the problem.

Go to post 3 in this thread for the adjustment procedure;
http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=147559

broken mower
07-10-2006, 06:14 PM
TY very much sir .

barnard
07-10-2006, 06:39 PM
Leaking head gasket between the combustion chamber and the push rod cavity pressurizing crank case and blowing oil out the crankcase breather tube into the intake. Check your air filter. I'll bet its oily.

Restrorob
07-10-2006, 07:04 PM