PDA

View Full Version : Rebuilding old ransomes walk behind

nbuzz
07-11-2006, 01:34 AM
Ok, I'm new to the site and I have some decent equipment on hand since I've been doing this for about 2 years. all my equipment is almost new except for my 36'' belt drive ransomes wb. It mows great, but its a pain in the ass to use. I don't know how old it is, ITS ANCIENT. the motor is a POS, old 10hp tecumseh L-head, and there is no transmission, it has a variable pulley speed setup. even the vs pulley is broken (now its a single speed). no safety features and the manual blade control allows the blades to kep spinning after disenagement.

My goal is to replace the motor, and repair some of the other things that are damaged.

Can I put a actual transmission on it? or get a new variable speed pulley?
Is there any way to update the controls and the drive pulleys?
the front castors are the old type, any way to get the new style?
And any ideas on the blades?

MowerMedic77
07-11-2006, 06:01 AM